Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

HelloKitty1981
Peer Guide

Is anyone studying at TAFE this year? What did you decide to study and why?

I decided to study the Certificate 4 in Mental Health as that is where I have a lot of lived experience but also from a carers perspective and think I would be able to bring to others a lot of my knowledge to help other people and to gain additional skills to take into employment.

Hopefully the course will run Semster 2 as they did't have enough students for face to face learning which I prefer, Semester 1, in my local area.

So now I am venturing down the path of the Certificate 4 in Community Services even though I have never been a huge fan of role plays. It is going to be very but rewarding year ahead.

15 REPLIES 15

Re: Is anyone studying at TAFE this year? What did you decide to study and why?

That sounds like a great avenue for many opportunities @HelloKitty1981 . 

We look forward to hearing how you go with it.

I think for TAFE, for me, it was a taste test to see if I liked the industry. If I was interested, I'd be able to delve into further studies. If not, then it was another cert under my belt.

I'm looking into studying an Art Therapy Course.

I used to work in the Health Industry working with Children and families.

Then had to resign 18months into the beginning of the Pandemic. 

After having so much time off work, I started painting again to help with my mental health and people have asked if i would teach them so i'm thinking this is my new goal to work towards. I also like studying so feels like a good choice so far.

Hello again @HelloKitty1981 !