Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Have an account?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome and getting started

Lula
Senior Contributor

Depression anxiety

Hello

I'm a newbie here, and I’m having a really hard time.  I live alone, have no family and feel so lost and isolated with my anxiety and depression. Have seen a doctor recently

108 REPLIES 108

Re: Depression anxiety

@Lula hey, welcome to the forums, really glad to have you with us! I'm sorry to hear you're feeling so disconnected, it's soooo tough. Many of our members use this space as a way to stay connected, and as a safe space to be able to talk openly about mental health stuff! If you'd like, you can join us over at the Newbie's Social Club to get to know some folks! 

We have some other guides for new members, like Getting started with your first post, a list of our social spaces, some tips for communicating online, and some other Tips & Tricks

Hope you find what you're looking for here hun 😊💜

Hi @Lula.  Welcome to the forum.  I'm sorry you're having such a hard time.  I know what it's like to be alone and how tough that is.  You said you've seen a doctor recently, do you have a mental health care plan?  My GP called me in earlier in the year and convinced me to go on one.  It gives 10 subsidised psychology visits a year.  Still not free but a lot more affordable than without.

To be fair, they psychology visits didn't help me a lot, but just talking to them made me think about thing slightly differently and gave me some new ideas to try so in then end, I guess it did help.