Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

BillyGoat
Casual Contributor

Time for answers...

Gday all

So, I've been doing this bipolar shit for about 30 years, 15 of them diagnosed.

I've seen countless psychiatrists, psychologists and gp's about it. I was involved in a website that operated as a support site for people with BP for about ten years, as initially a member, then a moderator, and finally as a co-administrator.

I've literally read thousands of stories from hundreds of people regarding all aspects of their experience with bipolar disorder. Topics included symptoms, mental health professionals, family, friends and workplaces, attempts at humour and normality, and outright rage.

I've lived and heard about all the problems, but I don't know the answers. My own attempts to deal with things, all kinds of docs, and all kinds of people in all kinds of situations have informed me about what the problems are, but I've never been able to learn the solutions.

I have what should be a simple question....

How should bipolar disorder be best managed?

Despite my research, my personal experience, a shitload of doctors, and my hearing so much from other sufferers, I still can't get this.  

Why is this shit so hard to work out,?

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Time for answers...

Hi @BillyGoat, first thing I wanted to pass on is the discussion thread that's active and running for people on the forum with bipolar:

https://saneforums.org/t5/Our-stories/Let-s-talk-about-Bipolar/m-p/1023041

Some members have been talking about their ways of living with bipolar, along with general discussion, daily life, etc.